Are you ...
- Currently operating a business in the City of Santee?
- Planning to Start a new business in the City of Santee?
- Expanding your business?
The City welcomes you and wants to get you started as soon as possible. Save yourself time and frustration by reviewing the following guidelines.
The Department of Development Services should be your first stop. A Planner will explain the process, necessary permits, answer questions or direct you to someone who can. Contact: City of Santee, Department of Development Services, (619) 258-4100 ext. 152
LOCATING A BUSINESS SITE
Before leasing a building, check the property's zoning for the types of businesses that can operate from the site. Check for any sign ordinances applicable to your particular business and location. If you wish to build a new structure, or renovate or expand an existing business, check the zoning and ask about building regulations.
All businesses operating in the City of Santee are required to have a business license. The annual fee for a business license is $74. Home Occupation Permits are $39. Some businesses will be required to pay an additional fee for a regulatory permit depending on the type of business conducted. Regulatory businesses include sales of firearms, secondhand dealers, solicitors, entertainers and establishments, massage establishments and technicians, to name a few. A complete listing of regulatory businesses is provided on the Regulatory Business Permit page.
If your business is based in Santee, a review and approval from three City departments (Development Services, Fire and Finance) will be required before a license is issued. If your business is based outside of Santee, a license number can be issued upon receipt of a completed application and the $74 fee.
All licenses are renewed on an annual basis. Courtesy reminders will be mailed 30 days prior to expiration date. Renewals not paid within 30 days of license expiration are subject to a 50% ($14) monthly penalty.
Licenses will not be issued to a post office or mail box address. You may use a box number for mailing purposes, but a specific street address is required for the business location.
Contact: City of Santee, Finance Department, (619) 258-4100 ext 146
State Contractors License:
For all unincorporated areas - County Licensing (619) 557-4100
Depending on your business, you may be required to obtain a S Contractors license in addition to your Santee business license. The State of California provides a hot line with recorded information on how obtain a contractors license, who needs one, and fees required.
Small Business Advocate's Hotline:
(619) 327-4357 or (619) 455-0237 (local)
FICTITIOUS NAME FILING
Filing for a company name:
To ensure that no other business lays claim to your firm's fictitious name (one other than your own), the owner must clear the name through the County Clerk. This service may be processed at the County Clerk's or at the Daily Californian Office. The filing fee, which must be paid in cash, varies depending on the type of business.
San Diego County Clerk's Office
1600 Pacific Hwy. Room 260, San Diego, CA 92101, (619) 237-0502
Once filed, the fictitious name must be published once a week for four weeks in a local newspaper that accepts legal notices.
All businesses are subject to taxation by the Federal Government. Employers must apply for an Employer's identification Number from the Internal Revenue Service (Form SS-4). A business owner must also withhold Federal Income Tax and Social Security taxes from his/her employees as well as contribute the employer's share of Social Security and Federal Unemployment Taxes. Contact:
Internal Revenue Service:
|Internal Revenue Service
San Diego Federal Building
880 Front Street, First Floor, Room 101
San Diego, CA 92188
|For Copy of Exemption Letter, contact: |
Internal Revenue Service
P.O. Box 2350, Room 5127
Los Angeles, CA 90053-2350
Attn: Exempt Organization Disclosure Assistant
Income and Payroll Taxes:
All businesses are subject to income taxation by the California Franchise Tax Board (FTB). Employers must apply for an Employer's Identification Number from the Employment Development Department (EDD) (Form DE-1). A business owner must also withhold State Income Tax and State Disability Insurance from his employees as well as contribute the employer's share of State Unemployment taxes. All Employers are required to have Workers Compensation Insurance for employees. Certification of this insurance is required for acquisition of a business license. Contact:
|State Compensation Insurance Fund,
San Diego, CA 92121-2940
Employment Development Department
3110 Camino Del Rio South, #100
San Diego, CA 92108
|Franchise Tax Board|
Any retailer, wholesaler or manufacturer selling tangible personal property (e.g., toys, cars, food, appliances, etc.) which is subject to State Sales and Use Tax is required to have a sales permit from the State.
Food, Restaurant, or Hazardous Materials:
If your business falls under the Food, Restaurant, or Hazardous Materials category, check health regulations with the County Health Department. Contact:
San Diego County Department of Health Services
Environmental Health, and Hazardous Materials
1255 Imperial Ave., 3rd Floor San Diego, CA 92101
Businesses selling or serving alcoholic beverages require a special state license. Contact:
Alcoholic Beverage Control Department
1350 Front Street, Room 5056
San Diego, CA 92101
ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION:
The Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE) is a non-profit organization sponsored by the U.S. Small Business Administration. SCC exists to provide free information and advice on all types of business Contact:
Santee Chamber of Commerce
10315 Mission Gorge Road
Santee, CA 92071
Santee Public Library
9225 Carlton Hills Boulevard #17
Santee, CA 92071
Last updated date: 8/24/2012 3:04:01 PM